Is Recreational Weed Legal in Michigan?

August 10, 2021
Recreational Weed, Legal, State, Michigan
Recreational Weed, Legal, State, Michigan

Is Recreational Marijuana Legal in the State of Michigan?

Yes, recreational weed/marijuana use is legal for those 21 years of age and older in the state of Michigan.  The Wolverine State also maintains a legal medical marijuana program that is regulated by them.

 

History of Weed Laws

In November of 2008, Michigan voters passed the Michigan Compassionate Care Initiative, which finally permitted marijuana use for critically ill patients.  It required that patients are diagnosed with one of the state-determined qualifying conditions and are approved by their doctor for marijuana use as a treatment.  Also allowed qualifying patients and caregivers to cultivate weed at home.

 

Then, in November of 2018, voters passed the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act to make recreational cannabis use legal for adults 21 years of age or older.  Michigan therefore became the first state belonging to the Midwest region to legalize cannabis recreationally. 

 

Where Can a Person Legally Purchase Weed in Michigan?

It is legal for registered medical patients to purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis per day as long as they are purchasing from a state-licensed dispensary.  However, they are not permitted to purchase more than 10 ounces per month.  Meanwhile, recreational users can buy up to 2.5 ounces from a state-licensed dispensary per transaction, and no more than 15 grams of concentrate.  There are designated recreational dispensaries throughout the state.

 

Where Can Cannabis Legally Be Used?

Michigan residents who are 21 years of age or older can legally consume cannabis at home or at another private residence or space.  Overall, it’s illegal to consume cannabis in public, with minor exceptions mainly pertaining to medical patients.  It is illegal to consume cannabis in a vehicle, whether or not that vehicle is moving, and it is strictly illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana.  Any federally funded university in Michigan must adhere to strict anti-possession laws on campus, meaning that college students in federally funded schools are not allowed to possess marijuana. 

 

Possession Laws

State law allows adult recreational users to have 2.5 ounces of marijuana at most in their possession, or 15 grams of concentrate at a time.  Adult users can legally give away small amounts of cannabis to others but cannot accept payment without a state-issued license to sell. 

 

Meanwhile, medical patients and authorized caregivers may possess up to 10 ounces of cannabis.

 

Can Residents Grow Their Own?

Adults 21 or older can legally grow up to 12 cannabis plants on their property and can possess up to 10 ounces of the resulting harvest.  They can legally give away small amounts of their harvest to others as long as no payment is given in exchange.  Medical patients and authorized caregivers can also grow up to 12 plants but must state their intention to do so on their medical marijuana application form.  Any plant grown at home must be kept in a locked space.  Caregivers can apply for a commercial growing license if they wish to grow more on behalf of their patients.

 

Medical Marijuana

The Michigan Medical Marihuana Program allows state residents to apply for approval to use medical marijuana from a state-licensed dispensary.  This state requires that the patient fill out an application form, which, if approved, allows the state to supply the patient with an ID card that is valid at dispensaries throughout the state.

 

Qualifying Conditions:

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV Positive
  • AIDS
  • Hepatitis C
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Nail Patella
  • PTSD
  • Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
  • Arthritis
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Spinal Cord Injury
  • Colitis
  • Inflammatory Bowel Disease
  • Ulcerative Colitis
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • Tourette’s Disease
  • Autism
  • Chronic Pain
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces 1 or more of the following: Cachexia, severe/chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, or severe/chronic muscle spasms

 

Patient Qualifications:

For a patient to qualify as a medical marijuana patient, they must have been given a diagnosis by a licensed physician of one of the above conditions.  They must also have a certification from their physician recommending marijuana as a form of treatment.

 

How to Register for Medical Marijuana in Michigan

Once a patient has a certification from their physician, they can fill out an application provided by the state that includes the certification along with a state-issued ID.  They must pay a $60 fee for the card once approval has been authorized.

 

Qualifying as a Caregiver

A caregiver in Michigan must be at least 21 years of age.

 

Registering as a Caregiver

To register as a caregiver, a patient must designate you through their application process, pay a $25 fee and provide your state-issued ID for proof of residence.

 

Reciprocity Laws

An out-of-state resident with a state-issued medical marijuana authorization from their home state can legally purchase marijuana in a Michigan dispensary as long as they present their medical marijuana card at the time of purchase.

 

Licensing Laws

All cannabis products sold in MI must undergo rigorous testing by a licensed third-party laboratory, in which the products are checked for contaminants and impurities and are analyzed by their cannabinoid and terpene compositions as well as their overall potency.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

#1: How Long Has Weed Been Legal in Michigan?

It’s been legal to consume marijuana recreationally since 2018.  Medical marijuana was first legalized in 2008, starting out as a program with strict qualification requirements and becoming looser over the years.

 

#2: Is Dabbing Legal in Michigan?

Dabbing is legal in Michigan, and you can have 15 grams of concentrate in your possession.  Many dispensaries sell concentrates.

 

#3: Can I Have Weed Delivered to My Home?

Michigan is currently working out a state-regulated weed delivery program that would permit dispensaries to deliver cannabis directly to the homes of cannabis users.  It has yet to be determined whether this would apply to all users or strictly medical patients.

 

#4: Can I Grow Weed?

Michigan residents can legally grow cannabis on their properties, with up to 12 plants being permitted.

 

#5: Can I Smoke or Vape Weed in Public?

You cannot legally smoke or vape weed in public according to Michigan law.  Consuming cannabis is only permitted on private property.

 

#6: Can I Buy Edibles in Michigan?

You can legally purchase edibles in MI, and many dispensaries in places like Detroit, Grand Rapids, Flint, Dearborn, and even Lansing carry them for both medical and recreational cannabis users.